Surprises along the way to Guatemala

An update from the second Guatemala Global Partnership team, from Montreal and St. John’s:

Carla, Inter-Varsity student, doing art at the Creative Art Ministry site in Guatemala.

Carla, Inter-Varsity student, doing art at the Creative Art Ministry site in Guatemala.

It’s been more than ten days since we arrived in Guatemala. Sixteen of us have been participating at 7 Ministry Sites: Media, Health Care, Agriculture, Appropriate Technology, Sport, Creative Art and Micro Finance. This journey hasn’t come easy; especially for Carla from Vanier College. Here is her beginning of the journey:

“My trip was really an adventure and full of surprises from God. When I arrived on time at the Montreal airport to meet with the group, I was so happy. Everyone was checking in, ready to enter the US custom (our connection flight was at Miami). When it was my turn to check-in, the lady was looking at me with a strange look and told me that I couldn’t go to Miami with the group, because I don’t have an American visa. (Carla carries a Lebanon passport and she has a Guatemala visa) Getting shocked and disappointed by her comment after months of hard work and prayers. But Shu Yin (Inter-Varsity Ministry Director in Quebec), with great faith, told me, ‘Don’t worry, we will find a way!’

The group had to enter US customs and I could only wait outside anxiously. Long story short, Inter-Varsity’s travel agency was able to find me a new flight ticket going to Guatemala without going through US. After 15 hours eventually I arrived safely at Guatemala airport, but no one seemed was there to pick me up. Not knowing how to speak spanish made me feel very nervous; suddenly I remembered an Emergency Card was given to me when I arrived at Montreal airport. I immediately found a phone and called those phone numbers. At first no one was answering until the SI Field Director picked up the phone and told me that he will send his daughter to pick me up. So that was a long day from the Montreal airport at 4 am until at Guatemala 9pm, I was able to join my group again. Praise The Lord.”

Carla (right) with other students from Inter-Varsity in Guatemala

Carla (right) with other students from Inter-Varsity in Guatemala

Please continue to keep us in your prayer. Many of us are struggling to understand the poverty we see here at Guatemalan life.

Leave a Reply

